Jennifer Lawrence Knows Just What To Say To Her Weight Critics

In a recent interview with Harpers Bazaar UK , the screen siren recalled her beginnings in Hollywood, and how she was told to lose weigh or forget about a career in the movies. Jennifer Lawrence looking hot in the new Hunger Games, and her co-star Sam Claflin seems to think so too Jen has never been one to worry about her size, and her state of mind remains the same. But her look doesn’t exactly fit into the size zero standard that Hollywood requires from it’s leading ladies and although she has overcome the various weigh jibes to reach the top of the pecking order, she revealed in the magazine interview that it could have been oh so different if she took these jibes to heart. Luckily though, she let her acting and her natural beauty do the talking, and she’s much better off for it. “I was young. It was just the kind of sh*t that actresses have to go through,” the 23-year-old golden girl of Hollywood told the magazine (via Just Jared ). She continued, “Somebody told me I was fat, that I was going to get fired if I didn’t lose a certain amount of weight. They brought in pictures of me where I was basically naked, and told me to use them as motivation for my diet. It was just that.”

How to help kids avoid emotional consequences of dieting too young

The poll, which aimed to reveal more about women’s attitude to weight, found that 71 per cent of British women regularly try out weird and not always wonderful weight loss techniques. Some 45 per cent have tried fasting as a means to shift excess pounds, while 39 per cent have endured the ‘cabbage soup diet’. More than a third have attempted a ‘liquid diet’, and almost 30 per cent had tried body wraps in the hope of losing an inch here and there. At the more worrying end of the diet scale, a quarter of the respondents confessed to having tried out the baby food diet, with a similar number opting for a raw fruit and vegetable regime. And 14 per cent admitted they had deliberately eaten foods they knew would make them sick, simply in order to bring on a dose of diarrhoea or vomiting.

Half of dieting women admit to using laxative quick fix

A different type “I wasn’t built like my mother and she was pretty much obsessed with my weight and appearance almost from infancy,” she said. “I still struggle with food to this day, but it’s much better now.” As a social worker and public speaker, Kataline is raising awareness on the damaging effects of pushing unresolved food issues onto children. “Not until I was in my 30s did I fully realize that my mother was probably anorexic, but she was playing it out on my body,” she said. “Parents who aren’t quite grown up and emotionally developed themselves tend to use their child to complete and resolve these issues.” Here are Kataline’s tips to helping your child develop a healthy body image: Don’t monitor food “People think that if you have a child with a weight problem, the thing to do is to bug them even more and restrict them even more. That’s counterintuitive. When you are raised by someone policing your eating habits, you either feel incompetent to feed yourself properly, so you pay other people to do it for you, or you become a rebel and eat everything in sight. I spent much of my childhood stealing food to get back at my mother, so I was trying to find my own way and set a boundary. When I was 16, I weighed 285 pounds. I made sure there would be no more beauty pageants.” One size doesn’t fit all “We all have different body types and not all children will be shaped like their parents.

Leave a Reply

